Skip to content

Indian Premier League playoffs set

The wild and unpredictable season of the Indian Premier League took another surprising turn in the final matches, but the league's four best teams have been named, and the playoffs are all set.

Delhi Daredevils locked up the top spot in the IPL over the weekend, dumping Kings XI Punjab out of the playoff race in the process. The league leaders answered Kings XI's 141/8 with a strong 145/4 after 18.2 overs, ensuring Punjab it would not be able to battle for the league trophy.

Kolkata Knight Riders experienced a much easier time against Pune Warriors India, as it scored 136/4. This was far superior to PWI's 102/8, and the loss doomed the team to the bottom of the IPL for the 2012 campaign. This is due to Deccan Chargers' late charge as spoilers, as not only was the team able to climb out of the basement, but it was also able to do its part, as the team knocked two other sides out of the playoffs altogether.

In the first match, Deccan gave up a 126/8 for Rajasthan Royals, but answered back with an impressive 128/5 after only 18.4 overs, which was able to break the Chargers' lengthy winless streak. Deccan continued to thrive in its role of spoiler, as the team posted a 132/7, which was more than enough to hold off Royal Challengers Bangalore, as that side only managed a 123/9. The loss doomed Bangalore to watching the playoffs from home.

The final match of the season was for pride, as Mumbai Indians was already in the playoffs, and Rajasthan had its dreams dashed earlier in the weekend. However, Mumbai finished the season on a high note, as it scored a 163/0 after 18 overs, enough to cruise past Rajasthan's 162/6.

The playoffs will kick off this week, with Mumbai, Delhi, Kolkata and Chennai Super Kings all participating. The news likely came as a relief to Chennai, who needed help to get in, as it was the first team to finish all of its matches.

Delhi will open the playoffs up against Kolkata on Tuesday, while Mumbai will play Chennai in the Eliminator on Wednesday. While the winner of the first qualifier will advance to the final, the winner of the Eliminator must face-off against the loser of the first qualifier to decide the last spot in the final.

You can still catch all of the IPL playoff action! To do this, just make your first transfer of $150 or more and you will get a free subscription to This will ensure you get to see every match in its entirety. But hurry! Time's running out!

Read more from Other, S. Asia

Comments are closed.